Labour’s New Shadow Cabinet All Voted For Marriage Equality



Now that Jeremy Corbyn has taken over leadership of the Labour Party their has been some major reshuffling and a new shadow cabinet has been selected. As to be expected with Corbyn being a left-wing politician their is a definite left-wing bent to the new shadow cabinet, and specifically all of the 26 members of the cabinet are politicians who voted for marriage equality in 2013.

Related 2020: Martyn Rawlinson Platforming Transphobia with TERF Tweets

This makes the Labour Party the only party in the UK-wide political party in which every MP and peer voted for marriage equality.

Interestingly seven members of the Conservative Party voted against the bill, including Defense Secretary Michael Fallon, Culture Secretary John Wittingdale and unfortunately Education Secretary and Equalities minister Nicky Morgan.

With an Equalities Minister who voted against marriage equality this is yet another blow to the Conservative Party that the new left-wing Labour Party has delivered.

Follow Amy on Twitter
Join Amy on Facebook
Add Amy on Tumblr
Join Her Fans on Facebook

Previous articleDallas Man given probation for the murder of Trans woman Janette Tovar
Next articlePart One: Isley Reust is Spectacular Spectacular
Amy is a journalist and editor contributing the websites Planet Transgender, Gay News Network, The Bottle Episode, The Retro Box and Claire Channel. Amy is also a published comic book writer and letterer. In addition to her writing Amy has also worked with the Centre For Hate Crime Studies in Leicester and has worked in the capacity of an advisor to the United Nations Entity For Gender Equality and The Empowerment of Women.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here